Ogunquit Heritage Museum
The Ogunquit Heritage Museum recounts the history and heritage of Ogunquit. It is housed in the Captain James Winn House, circa 1780. The house is on the Dorothea Jacobs Grant Common. The Museum is excited to be doing an exhibit on Henry Strater as an artist, member of the Lost Generation, philanthropist, Ogunquit Museum of American Art founder and prized fisherman. OHM has been loaned Strater's artwork from private collections featuring some really spectacular paintings. With that the Museum segues into showcasing tuna fishing and Perkins Cove. Henry was an integral part in getting the Cove dredged in 1941 so larger boats and their catches could come into harbor. And the fishermen have never looked back. Last, but not least, is a presentation of the Ogunquit Square Theatre. Starting with it being the original Ogunquit Playhouse run by the Hartwigs in 1933 and ending as the Ogunquit Square Movie Theatre owned by the Cooksons'. In the small borning room a permanent collection gives prominence to a pair of Ogunquit's famous teahouses-The Dan Sing Fan and The Whistling Oyster. Showcased are signs, furniture, menus, photographs and paintings from the original buildings. The ell houses the Perkins Cove collection, including a fish shack replica and the artifacts typically found in the fishermen's shacks of old. There are also paintings and photographs, past and present, that have been created around Ogunquit. Admission is free but donations are gratefully accepted. The Museum also houses the extensive Charles Littlefield Seaman Library, information on Maine families and towns through the years and a reproduction of the famous Ogunquit dory. For more information, please call 207-646-0296.