Portland Head Light was first lit on Jan. 10, 1791.This light has a white conical tower, a charming Victorian keeper's house with a rambling red roof and eyebrow eves on the porch, a commanding setting at the southwest entrance to Portland harbor, and beautifully landscaped grounds.
Commissioned by George Washington and dedicated by the Marquis de Lafayette, it is the state's oldest lighthouse and one of its most beloved. The Museum at Portland Head Light is in the former Keepers' Quarters. The Museum contains a number of lighthouse lenses and interpretative displays. The light is now automated. The lighthouse and the adjacent Fort Williams Park are owned by the town of Cape Elizabeth.